This week I’m spending some time at Gen Con. It’s high time we had another big convention in Brisvegas. Yesterday I went to some very interesting panel discussions about writing with Ian Irvine, Sean Williams and Marianne de Pierres.

I haven’t read anything by Ian Irvine or Marianne de Pierres before, but I’ve just picked up a copy of Nylon Angel, the first of her Parrish Plessis cyberpunk series, which is now teetering at the top of the enormous pile of soon-to-be-read books on my bedside table.

I’ve been a fan of Sean Williams for some years now, so it was exciting to meet him, and I found his ‘ten and a half commandments for writing’ very helpful. This morning I’ve been poking about on his website and found this, which also looks useful. By the way, is it just me, or does he look a bit like Simon Pegg?

I’m feeling very inspired right now. There will be some more short stories coming soon…