No, I have not been killed by aliens, but my poor blog has been neglected for quite some time. In the past ten months I finished studying (for the time being), started a new job, moved house, and had my first baby. It’s been an exciting time full of new experiences and challenges. Ironically, the more I have to write about, the less time I have for writing. Now I have once again resolved to make some time for it. No, ‘resolved’ is the wrong word. Resolutions get broken, and that brings guilt. Better just to say that I will try harder to make time for writing. My baby is starting to sleep a little more often, so I should be able to snatch a bit of time at the computer here and there. I will start working in earnest on some new short stories, and see about doing some book and zine reviews over the next few months.

Oh, and speaking of aliens, I hear there is to be a fifth Alien film. Please excuse me while I do a Happy Fangirl Dance. I’m very pleased that Ridley Scott will be back on board as the director. Much as I enjoyed James Cameron’s very different action/war movie sequel, Aliens (Ripley is one of the toughest mother figures in cinema, matched only by Sarah Connor in Terminator 2), and the strange, dreamlike vibe that Jean-Pierre Jeunet gave to Alien: Resurrection, bringing Scott back creates a satisfying sense of going back to the beginning. I don’t care if the critics hate it, I’m going to see this film, even I have have to bring the baby into the cinema with me.

For now, I’d better go and put on another load of nappies.
Signing off.
Come on, cat.

